Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others says that there are more important environmental problems

While some groups of people consider the extinction of some animal and plant species to be the main environmental challenge, others believe that there should be more important problems relating to the environment. In my opinion, the loss of some specific kinds of animals and plants is too serious issue to be ignored and more important than any other environmental problem. According to some people, there are many environmental problems that are of importance. Firstly, the problem of air pollution caused by factory and exhaust fumes is likely to pose many challenges to people. Many people, especially those who live in large cities, may suffer from various illnesses and have a shorter life expectancy. Thus, this problem is belived not to be ignored. Nor can people ignore water pollution; a case in point is coal production which causes the contamination of water resources in the nearby regions because of throwing industrial waste. However, both of these issues can be gradually prevented, thanks to modern technology and green cars that can reduce both air and water pollution. Therefore, I believe that animal and plant extinction is a more serious concern that needs to be tackled immediately. Compared with pollution, the extinction of some particular kinds of animals cannot be gradually solved because many of these kinds cannot be bred again. It is because even modern science is incapable of breeding extinct species. The loss of some kinds would also clearly disrupt the ecological balance in some ecosystems, which is a serious problem for people as well. For instance, after rodents – which feed on venomous snakes – had become extinct in one of the regions of our country, people were exposed to the attack cases of these snakes many of which were fatal. Most importantly, it is morally unacceptable to neglect the fact that the flora and fauna of some regions in the world is under the threat of extinction. Animals and plants are also living creatures, and the risk of the disappearance of particular kinds of them should be prioritized over less significant and solvable environmental problems. In conclusion, I accept that pollution, be it water or air, is a serious environmental problem. However, neither pollution nor all other environmental problems can be compared with animal and plant