Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Congested roads became a disasterous issue, which we have to contract with every day. Traffic jams not only steal our vulnerable time, but recently they became a major cause of rising carbon emissions. The humanity consumes more and more oil and that has an enormous impact on air quality. Governments try to take some steps to change that. In most of cases they are sucessful in coping with this problem, but sometimes policies can play a bad game causing even more harm. For example, local authorities in Chicago made a decision to expand a motorway by constructing more lanes. Everybody has expected that will ease congestion. Unfortunately, it didn’t work well and created only problems. Expansion made local residents use the renovated motorway instead of local roads, when it is unnecessary. To understand that we have to understand the human nature. People usually think that it will be more convenient to take a major road, because of higher speed limits, but in fact they are wrong. Travel times increased due to more traffic and therefore building more lanes isn’t equal to making roads more convenient. Urbanists encourage people to use the public transport instead of the private one. For the US, where citizens tend to use cars it will have a positive impact. European countries radically contrast to their transatlantic neighboor. In Europe, where there is a lack of parking spaces and public transport the way more convenient residents will likely take it. London authorities has introduced car-restriction policy in the city centre recently. The outcome is surprising. The air quality improved like never before and it became much easier to get around the city. It is important to say that not only the governments, but the citizens have to participate in solving the congested roads problem too. We have to be patient and be responsible for our deeds and very soon the humanity will see the bright future.