Some people say that the extended family is not as important now as it once was. Others think that its worth has not been changed because people always need help from their family members.

In recent decades, people often have different perspectives on whether the importance of the extended family has changed or still remains valuable. Although a number of people stated that this kind of family is worthwhile since people always need their family members, I believe that the extended family has been less likely to be essential as before. On the one hand, there is a wide belief that the extended family appears with an important role towards each single person’s life. Undoubtedly, maintaining the existence of the extended family symbolizes the preservation of wonderful moral traditions of a country. In such a traditional country like Vietnam, it is critical to highly appreciate the relationships between family members, in which the extended family represents the indispensable value. Furthermore, the more modern the society is, the more need for grandparents to be sought. Obviously, when parents are busy with working for livelihood, grandparents appear as a third party that is trustworthy and devoted to take care of the children in the family. On the other hand, I would side with those who believe that the role of the extended family has gradually been less important than it used to be. It is evident that the young generation these days often has a tendency to separate themselves apart from their family members. As a result, the youngsters rarely keep strong bonds with senior relations, which implies the less importance of relationships towards the extended family. Moreover, a large number of young people decide to leave their families as well as hometowns to seek potential education and career opportunities. To demonstrate, according to a recent survey, about 20% of Chinese students have a desire to move to another place to live and work or study, regardless of how far from their families, which shows the extended family is less likely to be necessary with those youngsters. To conclude, while maintaining the existence of the extended family allows society to conserve valuable traditions, it is undeniable that the role of the extended family has steadily been less essential in such a hustled society.