Some people say that the bicycles are a good, modern means of transportation. Other say riding a bicycle has clear disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Using bicycles as an efficient way of transporting has been proposed to solve some of the environmental and nonenvironmental problems of care-based transportation. However, some people and traffic experts put it into question. In this essay, some of the relevant discussions would be outlined. As mentioned before, some people may hold the view that using bicycles, as an environmentally friendly way of transportation, has some clear advantages over the other common means. They emphasize that using bicycles could considerably affect the global warming by reducing the annual produced CO2 emissions. According to the recent published articles, using bicycle, as an alterative way of transportation in Berlin, has reduced the annual CO2 production of the city by 30 percent. Other environmentalists suppose that considering bicycles as the common way of transportation would significantly decrease the air pollution especially for mega cities. On the other hand, some realistic governmental authorities believe that because of insufficient financial resources, conducting national plans of using bicycles would not be operational for even a full scale model. For example, Spain, as one of the pioneers in a plan which is called Green Transportation (GT), had failed to run a full scale transportation based on bicycles in Madrid. Some other traffic experts believe that using bicycles, especially in huge cities, is not a fulfilling approach. They estimated that if the British government wants to conduct a similar plan in London, they have to double their bicycle production within the 2 years in order to fulfill the daily needed travels of capital. To summarize, I personally believe that using bicycle as an alternative option would have some advantages over the other available means. However, governments should allocate efficient financial resources to improve the structural basis of using bicycles. Unfortunately, using bicycle with the current available resources could not be operational in national scale plans. Therefore, using other means of transportations seems inevitable. (AC) Arsham Moayedi Far