Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

It is important for every government to monitor, improve and track the health of their public. While some people believe that increasing the number of sports centers is the best strategy to improve public health, I personally believe that this would have little impact and other actions would be needed. A number of people believe that by building more sports facilities, the graph of public health will go up. This is because there will be more opportunities to exercise which will improve health. For example, if there are Rugby competitions in every area or town of the country, there will be more participation and more people will have opportunity to exercise. However, if there are lesser places for sports not many people will be able to participate and therefore public health cannot be majorly improved. On the contrary, I personally believe that increasing the number of sports facilities will have very low effect on public health and other measures would be required. This is due to the fact that sports or exercise is not the only factor which contributes to public health and therefore other actions would be required. Firstly, motivation is needed for playing sports. For instance, USA might have thousands of gyms across the country but they still have the highest obesity rate. Secondly, diet control and smoking habits of a population needs to be controlled. For example, Australia has imposed the highest tax on tobacco and cigarettes compared to the rest of the world in order to reduce smoking by their inhabitants. In conclusion, although increasing the sports facilities will have some effect on public health I think that this will not be significant and more efforts such as motivation to exercise, diet control and limiting smoking habits would be needed in order to achieve this.