Some people say that that working at home is beneficial to the worker and the family while others believe that it is stressful to both the worker and the family.

Recent developments in technology have meant that people can use their computers or other devices to do work remotely. This allows them to work from home rather than spending all day in an office or other place of work. This essay will look into whether this is beneficial or detrimental to a family, arguing that it is probably a positive development for most people. In the information era, it is quite possible for people to work at home on their computer. The internet has opened up all sorts of possibilities in terms of making money, and so people may work remotely, as freelancers, or start their own company. People typically prefer this because it allows them a great deal of freedom. A person who prefers nights and loathes waking up early might choose to conduct their business at night, whereas someone who likes to travel might work from a laptop while visiting different places. These obvious benefits make life better for the average person, and also allow them to spend more time with their family, which may help increase familiar bonds and also protect people’s mental health and spiritual well-being. Of course, there are some disadvantages to working from home. Being in an office, although it can be a restrictive and uninspiring environment, provides motivation for workers, while being at home often leaves people surrounded by distractions. Without a boss or co-workers nearby to push them, it is easy to procrastinate and waste a lot of time. It can also be lonely working from home, as a person is required to spend long periods of time without any sort of social interaction. Even when people don’t enjoy their workplace, they are still able to interact with other people, which is beneficial for their mental health. As for those with families, it may be hard to concentrate or to separate the usual workplace stress from family issues, resulting in personal problems. In conclusion, working from home allows people a far greater degree of freedom in their life, but there are several drawbacks that mean this sort of work is not suitable for everyone. Overall, however, it is probably a positive development for most people.