Some people say that marks should be the only criteria for university selection. Others claim this should not be the case and everyone should get the chance. Examine both views and provide a conclusion

There is a general notion among many proponents of university education, that it should be provided free or cost, only to the younger pupils who score the highest score in examinations. Whereas, there is also a group of people who do not iterate the above point of view, and generally stand in favour, of making university education available to all, irrespective of marks scored and applicant age. In this essay, we will critically examine both the viewpoints. Firstly, making academic performance as a sole criteria for university selection, will definitely result in a educationally focused diaspora, as the pupils selected will be more academically inclined. Secondly, the whole scheme of selection, especially in case of those colleges, which receive a lot of applications, will be more streamlined. Thirdly, this kind of selection will result in producing a future workforce, who have proven their competency in the past, and therefore would be more professionally focused and equipped. According to the proponents of this scheme of selection, pupils who had proven their mettle in the past, will get a fair chance at the college education, and with respect to the mentioned advantages, will help weed out the not so serious candidates. University education is a basic need, and is very much sought after, especially among the youth, who aspire to land a high paying job, which in turn would help them get settled in life. Basing the eligibility criteria, on marks scored during school years, will result in exclusion of a vast majority of students, which in turn will lead to a lot of dissatisfied youth, vying for a meaningful means of employment. The school curriculum is very general and does not cater to individual competencies. University education is more specific and an aspirant will have chances to score better and prove his mettle. Hence, basing the admissions on marks scored and age, would be a big injustice to all future aspirants. To sum this topic up, we have to balance both the point of views, keeping in mind the current job scenario and competition among the peers for employment. Although the first point of view is theoretically sound and may produce academically brighter results, however, we have to keep in mind the practical scheme of things, before coming to a conclusion. It is impossible to restrict human aspirations, specifically those of students aspiring for a degree, basis school grades. To be fair, to one and all, we should stand by the second viewpoint and be a proponent of free and fair universal education