Some people say that it’s important to keep your home and your workplace tidy, with everything organized and in the correct place. What is your opinion on this?

It is argued by some that a clean and well-organized personal space, be it at home or at the office, is integral for an individual’s well-being and beneficial for his/her personal and professional development. I wholeheartedly agree with this statement as I see various advantages of a tidy home and workplace. The main reason is that a decluttered working or living space can be seen as an extension of the individual and suggest that he/she is disciplined, efficient, and well-adjusted. This may also allude to his/her stability in other areas of life, such as personal and professional relationships. People who hold discipline in high regard may also be seen as efficient workers and caring partners who respect others’ personal space. In other words, an organized home and workplace reflects positively on the individual and may provide an insight into his/her personality. Another reason could be the psychological benefits of a tidy space. While a cluttered living situation could result in a higher level of mental stress and anxiety, a home and office which is clean provides an individual greater clarity of mind. Furthermore, if everything is kept in its designated place, it is easier to locate important documents or items of value when needed. Consequently, valuable time which might have been spent looking for things could instead be allocated to more important matters. In conclusion, I strongly believe that keeping one’s living and working space tidy have psychological, personal, and professional benefits, and therefore, it is necessary that more attention to cleanliness and tidiness is paid in one’s life.