Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

It is argued that how people dress does have a lot to tell about their tradition and personality. This essay disagrees with the saying and will point out two important factors in choosing clothes, which are climate and globalization, and prove that they are completely irrelevant to find out something about people’s character and culture. One of the most important factors that comes in mind while deciding how to dress is weather. Weather condition determines what fabrics should be used to make clothes, as well as what colours should be worn in a particular place. For example, Arabs who live in the Middle East and north Africa usually wear long white woolen dresses with two intentions. First, the white colour resists the heat more efficiently than any other colours. Second, wool is better than other fabrics at soaking up moisture from the skin and allowing it to evaporate from the outer surface. As you can see in this case their clothes could not reveal anything about their lifestyle or characteristics, and is chosen only to deal with the harsh wethear. The other element that plays a huge role in clothes choosing, these days, is globalizasion. This phenomenon influences everything and, what to wear is not an exception. A lot of inhabitants of this global village seem to have completely the same tastes in clothes as you can see the same brands and the same fashions in totally different areas with entirely different backgrounds. In the current stiff competition in fashion industry, local companies try their best to keep up with the latest fashions and tend to copy the patterns of their international counterparts in order to survive. This way people do not have a lot of alternatives and you see the same way of dressing worldwide, so you cannot be able to figure out some specific information about particular societies or their individuals’ habits through their choice of clothes. In conclusion, you cannot find out a lot about people’s characteristics and traditions via their clothes as some irrelevant factors like weather condition and globalization are directly deciding how we dress.