Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

A popular belief is that the choice of clothes could possibly reveal the personal and cultural traits of an individual. However, I believe this is not true in all circumstances especially when it comes to telling about the actual behavior of a person. Of course, the wearing style of any person reflects his personality. To put it another way, people often select dresses as per their culture and jobs. In this way, it is sometimes easy to discover the birthplace or the location from where one might belong to. To illustrate, India has diverse population from distinct ethnic groups, including Punjabi. These people wear a turban on their head, which makes it convenient for others to differentiate Punjabi people from others based on the logic of culture. Thus, in such cases we could tell the cultural speciality of a human being. Despite this, it is not possible to tell actual character of a person by just looking at a dress only. This is because clothes mainly reflect the outer traits, and a person’s internal moral values can only be known if regular interaction takes place. This could be further illustrated by Police personnel, who usually seem tough individuals from outside, which is not true in most cases. Hence, I believe that the character of an individual cannot told unless we spend time or have interaction with that person. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that wearing style often plays a vital role in deciding the cultural background of people but it does not reflect the actual character of them.