Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree o disagree?

Some people believe that people’s cloth can represent where they come from and who they are. Personally, while I agree to this point of view to some extent, I think it is not easy to tell people’s culture and personalities from their clothing. On the one hand, there is no doubt that people wear certain cloth to express their culture and themselves. For example, a lot of people free in red during Chinese New year, which means happiness and blessing in Chinese culture. Another example is that people who in favor of hip-pop culture normally ear bat hats, T-shirts and sneakers. Those people are proud of this culture so they are happy to be recognized by others through clothing. On the other hand, more and more people wear things that have nothing to do with their culture or characters, especially in the consumption culture nowadays. This can simply be explained by the fact that many people tend to choose cloth that are popular and trending discard any cultural or personal meanings. Furthermore, some people wear certain cloth just for fun. To illustrate that, some countries, including China and Korean, start to celebrate Halloweens. Kids and their parents wear costumes and ask for candies, despite the facet that it is not a traditional holiday in any of these Asian countries. For these people, it is more of an interesting activity that they can enjoy the time with kids and friends, other than a cultural event. Therefore, it is less possible to tell people’s culture due to the global environment. In conclusion, although I agree that people’s clothing sometimes tells their culture and character, it is less likely in other cases because people care less about these things when choose what to wear.