Some people say that individuals who make a lot of money are most successful. Others think that those who contribute to society like scientists and teachers are most successful.

At present, many people argue that the most successful people earn a lot of money, while others believe that success depends on various other factors. In response to this statement, the essay will elaborate on both sides of the phenomenon to maintain that proclaiming an absolute stance will undermine the complexity of the issue at hand. To commence with, people have a materialistic mindset in modern society. They determine a person’s success on the basis of his possessions. For instance, a person is judged to be successful if he owns tangible assets such as a luxury car or a modern house. Therefore, individuals are made to believe that their success depends on their earnings or possessions. On the other hand, many people are successful without earning a great deal of money. Specifically, scientists are considered to succeed due to the fact that they receive high respect from citizens for their social contribution. For instance, a group of Vietnamese environment experts at Hanoi University proposed and applied the innovative biological treatment system using the submerged plants to remove contaminating water in the To Lich river for 3 years spanning from 2016 to 2019. Without their effort, 3 million dwellers around Hanoi may face issues of water security because this river is the main water source. Consequently, people who are respected and revered by others regarded as successful one. In conclusion, the essay has maintained the impartial stance due to the byzantine nature of this issue: on the one hand, successful people determined as a person who earnings a great deal of money in modern society due to the materialism trend; on the other hand, various people are successful by the high social status instead of huge money.