Some people say that in our modern age, it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that handwriting skill is no longer important in this era of technology, and children do not require investing time to hone their handwriting, especially when they will most likely type instead of writing for the rest of their life. Unfortunately, this opinion is misguided. I strongly believe that handwriting skill is important even in today’s digital world. Good handwriting is important because when children learn to write clearly and concisely, they also learn how to express themselves properly. This leads to better academic and professional performance. I reckon handwriting is much more than simply putting letters on a page; it is a key part of learning and expressing ideas. Scrawls that cannot be read may be compared to speaking that cannot be understood. Handwriting is also important because children are required to use it daily in school, and who struggles with the mechanics of handwriting may have trouble taking notes or completing their schoolwork. This can affect both their self-esteem and their attitude toward school. Good penmanship means better grades as studies show that the same mediocre paper is graded much higher if the handwriting is neat. More importantly, handwriting proficiency inspires confidence despite some people's belief that handwriting is not related to better academic performance. The more children practise a skill such as handwriting, the stronger the motor pathways become until the skill becomes automatic. Furthermore, handwriting aids memory. For example, if a person writes a list or a note and then loses it, he is more likely to remember what he wrote than if he just tries to memorize it. In conclusion, computer and digital data have no way replaced the necessity of handwriting skills. They are even more prevailing in this era of technology where good handwriting is related to academic performance and success, one the one hand, and inspires confidence, on the other hand.