Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

It is sometimes argued that instead of studying how to apply knowledge to the real world, students are spending excessive time obtaining basic theories in all phases of schooling. I completely disagree with this statement, although the ability to solve real-world issues is vital, I do believe that the hours pupils are required for materials learning in class is necessary. Although learning the techniques to tackle realistic problems is important, I do believe that there is no need for schools to reallocate more time to it. This is because it is normally hard and time-consuming for pupils to gain the ability to solve real-world issues. While the studying time for students in school is limited, it is wiser to allocate more hours on basic knowledge in which they can absorb easily. Moreover, enrollees can learn academic concepts more efficiently in educational institutions with an educator’s help, while the methods for practical questions can be acquired from other places. For example, it would be more suitable to get concrete experience and skills during an internship or workshop since it provides learners with real-world settings. There are various reasons why educational institutions make learners spend a considerable amount of time grasping facts. First and foremost, learning academic concepts is the basis of studying, which normally requires numerous hours consumed due to a variety of subjects and complexity. Take learning English as an example, for the purpose of mastering one language we need to be taught from different perspectives, which includes listening, writing, speaking and reading. Furthermore, in order to solve problems practically, we have to contribute more time to mastering theories. Therefore, only a vast storage of knowledge could help us tackle the issues in reality. For instance, it could be a waste of time if the students are asked to find a solution to task which they have no idea about. In conclusion, I am opposed to the point of view that immoderate time was spent on academic knowledge instead of practical skills for students in all stages of education, as it is time-consuming and can be learned from better setting outside of educational institutions.