Some people say that genetics play a more formative role in shaping someone's personality, while others believe that human personality traits are evolving as adaptive behavioural responses to the environment. Which of these factors is a greater influence on human behaviour and identity?

People tend to have mixed opinions on how personalities are developed, whether it is because of the genetics role or the environment. To a certain extent, I disagree to the point that genetics has the bigger impact on how human personalities are built. To start with, genetics or the DNA play a bigger role in descending the physical appearance from parent to their child. For example, some children have similar skin color like their mother, and have the same hair type as their father. On the other hand, character development could be affected by various things. Moreover, some people tend to change their personalities in the matter of time due to certain circumstances. With this in mind, genetics could not become the measurement of shaping someone’s personality. In my opinion, instead of genetics, the environment has a bigger role in shaping personalities. Personalities are more vulnerable to their surroundings. As mentioned before, people are able to change their personality based on certain circumstances. For example, there is this one person that is surrounded with a group of hard-working people. Even though this one particular person did not have the same traits as the other, eventually they will have similar personalities like the other and somehow this usually happened unconsciously. To conclude, I do not think that genetics are important in human’s characters development. However, I do believe that physical resemblance is connected to genetics. Furthermore, who we spend most of our time with has the biggest impact in changing our behaviour rather than the DNA itself.