Some people say that educational qualifications are the key to a successful life. Others say that they are not necessary.

Educational qualifications are often seen as a passport to success, and for this reason an increasing number of young people are pressurized into cramming for exams in order to secure their future. However, the definition of success does not necessarily mean a well-paid, high-flying job and there are many other ways of achieving success without having to pass an exam. Those that argue that academic qualifications are a good thing point to the wide range of employment options that exist for those who are well qualified. Opportunities for career development in certain professions such as medicine and the law are often only available to those with the highest qualifications. In addition, employers need to be able to distinguish between job candidates, and school results appear to give evidence of intelligence, hard work and ability. Finally, there is far less likelihood of becoming stuck in a dead-end job, asqualifications give you more freedom to choose the career, employer or workplace that is best suited to your skills. In contrast, some believe that educational qualifications do not necessarily guarantee success in life. There are many examples of university ‘dropouts’ such as Steve Jobs and Bill Gates who went on to astonishing success in their fields. Creativity, drive, passion, self-belief and a determination to succeed are far more important prerequisites for success than an ability to learn facts and regurgitate them in an exam. You do not need qualification to have success in a number of different areas of life, from starting a family to running your own business or raising money for charity. In my view, there is too much emphasis placed on academic qualifications. Employers need to look beyond exam results and find alternative ways of evaluating people’s strengths and natural talents. Creative, innovative thinkers should be encouraged to pursue their goals without being hampered by the pressures of exams and out-dated recruitment procedures.