Some people say that animals can be used in any way for the benefit of humans. Others say that exploiting animals for human purposes is not acceptable.

Several people say that humans can use animals for their benefits, while others say that this exploitation is not acceptable. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion. To embark on this discussion, the relationship between humans and animals is ancient, which is based on reciprocal interaction. In other words, if humans have benefited from animals, they have also cared for them such as providing them with food, and protection from wild animals. Additionally, animals have acted as a catalyst to progress in various walks of life, especially when it comes to the field of medicine: testing new treatments and surgical procedures on rodents has helped make tremendous progress in rendering appropriate treatment for various medical conditions. Due to this, many life-threatening diseases have been eradicated. However, opponents of using animals for self-benefit say that no human has any right to inflict pain. That is to say, inhuman activities, such as confinement to small areas cause pain to the animals. As a result, animals die due to excruciating pain caused by mankind. For instance, a recent survey conducted by PETA, a non-governmental organization, showed that many roosters die because of lack of oxygen as there are too many of them together living in cages in poultry farms. It seems unjustified since in ancient times the relationship between humans and animals was give and take, but today, humans are acting cruelly towards the animals which is unacceptable. Overall, considering the aforementioned views, I feel the bond between animals and humans has existed since the dawn of civilization, and they have also acted as a mechanism that has afforded improvement in the field of medicine. Thus, their use is justified though acts of cruelty that cause pain to the animals are unacceptable.