Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. with this statement?

It is often thought that every popular entertainment programme on TV ought to bring some information about crucial social problems. I disagree with this viewpoint and believe that it must be the personal choice of programmes creators whether to add educational content or not. And TV watchers should also be free to choose from a wide selection of various content. First and foremost, I am convinced that the directors of TV shows are those who must decide on the inclusion or exclusion of educational moments into the content they produce. Making TV programmes is a creative process, so no obligations are acceptable. Moreover, if such a rule had existed, many excellent entertainment TV programmes would not have appeared. For example, “The wheel of fortune” has been broadcasted for over twenty-five years without interruptions. Furthermore, it has become a tradition for millions of people to spend Friday evenings watching the show. Nevertheless, this particular programme does not depict any social issue while being great entertainment. Another thing to consider is that different people have different tastes and interests. Thus, it is advantageous to provide various content that would suit different expectations. Finally, the prime purpose of entertainment TV programmes is to help people to unwind. Hence, what may help a tired individual to relax after a hard day at work is a happy-go-lucky comedy, lacking any education about social issues. In conclusion, while some people may consider that all amusement TV programmes ought to educate people, I disagree with this point of view. Instead, I assume that giving content creators the freedom to produce whatever they want and providing watchers with a tremendous choice of different TV programmes is a more sophisticated approach that is beneficial for everybody.