Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

A proportion of the community believe that commercials are highly effective in influencing the buying habits of people whereas the rest think that adverts are regular and that we do not need to care about them. In my opinion, most of the time advertisements play an immense role in persuading one’s buying options. To begin with, some products have reached their pinnacle of advertising such that those products are better known by their brand name. In Sri Lanka for example, “Panadol” is commonly used instead of Paracetamol and “Sunlight” in preference to detergent soap. Such market domination leaves no chance for any competitive products. Moreover some commercials succeed in creating a lasting impact among people such that you will instantly recall the advert the moment your need arises for such type of product. In recent time, one jewellery commercial featuring Sonu Nigam, an internationally renowned artist, captured the society by storm. They were successful in making a long lasting memory among many. On the other hand there are other types of adverts which do not influence people much. For instance, advertisements on banks, insurance and tuition have less or no impact on most of the society as people tend to investigate their benefits before. Such advertisements have become a common scenario that people do not care much about. In conclusion, it is evident that advertisements play a huge part in increased sales. They indirectly influence people’s habitual shopping preferences. Nonetheless there are some categories of advertisements that we see daily but have very little or no impact on society.