Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don't really need. Others say that advertisements tells us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

It is obvious that some people, especially those who do not enjoy shopping a lot, think that advertisements and commercials affect people negatively because they make people buy everything even unnecessary ones. On the other hand, some people find advertisements useful because they think that thanks to these commercials, they can discover plenty of products which can help them make their lives better. In fact, I have a similar opinion with the second group. As a matter of fact, commercials may be quite useful for us because everybody cannot follow the latest products all the time, and they can be informed by advertisements about a product they may need. For instance, old people who are bad at technology and cannot adopt the new world may be unaware of the goods even they need. Thus, we sometimes need commercials to follow the recent products. I totally disagree with the opinion that commercials make negative effect on our lives. If a person achieved to be strong-willed and balanced in his/her life, they can make decisions about necessities and their wants, so commercials never affect them. Once they see a product and they decide whether they need it or not. To sum up, even though there are some commercials trying to attract our attention unduly, most of them can be beneficial since new products emerge as the technology improves and most of the time these make our lives easier most of the time. We cannot always keep up with all of them by ourselves, therefore we need to be informed by advertisements to catch up with them.