Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don't really need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

There are many debates these days about advertisements if they are persuasive and useful or not. Some people believe that thanks to them we can enhance our lives and purchase recent goods. I agree with the statement for several reasons that I will explain in my essay. Firstly, thanks to the rapid development of globalisation and the internet, marketing tools have developed dramatically. For example, while consumers are surfing on the internet they generally see pop-up ads and these ads are mostly specialised according to their social network, search history or interests. It is really hard to encounter dull and irritating ads on websites. Even though they are repetitive, they usually attract people and convenience them to click flyers or pop-up ads. Therefore, customers Secondly, some people do not have enough time to search on new or innovative products or services. Thanks to the advertisements such as commercials, pop-ups or billboards they learn about these items and services. It is essential, because they might be useful for people to improve their life standards and have better lives. For example, I was looking for a smart lamp that I can adjust the color of light and brightness; however, a month ago I encountered Xiaomi’s smart lamp on Youtube’s advertisement and I purchased it. To sum up, as it can be seen from the above examples there are many reasons to agree with the idea. Today’s advertisements are extremely persuasive and useful for consumers and they help us to improve ourselves. I hope that in the future this will alter gets better than now.