Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a fact the advertisement is the backbone of the industry as without advertisement reaching to customer would have been a cumbersome job. However, I also believe that advertising encourages us to buy things that are not required in our lives. Advertisement is the power that companies possess to influence customers. Sadly, It is a known fact that corporations misuse this power to delude customers. In order to achieve huge sales they resort to false advertisement, use influential people for their promotion campaign, show misleading testimonies, use their brand value to promote subpar products etc. which, in turn results in buying products which are not needed by customers. One such example of false advertising is skin lightening creams, companies hire popular Bollywood actors and social media influencers to influence audience to promote these creams and delude them to believe that these creams can make them fair. This way companies create customer base for their useless products. Another such example of misleading advertisement is iPhones, Apple always advertises their products as superior to all using its brand value. However, recently most of the iPhone's launched does not have any additional features and are additionally of sub par in terms of camera quality, features etc. when compared to other brands in market. Still, we see high demand for Apple iPhones for each new version launched. This is the outcome of continuous advertisement and influence created by the brand in long run. In conclusion, advertisement is more of a way of deceiving customers then providing them with information about the product. It is imperative that companies advertise to inform the customers about the new features and new products in a most truthful way which does not influence customers instead help them to take an informed decision.