Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Advertising influences every aspect of our lives, for example when you watch a tv show you can easily detect a product placement or your movie can be interrupted by a commercial break. Every company that wants to create an internationally acclaimed brand will invest money in advertising or hire an advertising agency to launch their products. This is true for every sector you can think of: from food companies like nestlè to clothing companies like nike. While there is a large use for advertising the consumer is mostly unaware of the effect of the ads. Advertisements in fact work on the subconscious mind to appeal to the average consumer and only a small percentage of buyers will purchase goods responsibly. Companies thrive on endless consumption of products, even if these are not necessary. An excellent example is Apple, the famous tech company whose founder, Steve Jobs, died recently. In the 90’s and throughout all the following decade Apple started building a brand, distinctive for refreshing and elegant design and top notch technology. The target audience, the youth, were groomed to always search for the new product. While these were released every 2 years this type of marketing campaign was good business, now brand loyalty is not affordable anymore because Apple launches a new product every month from apple watches to smartphones. The average consumer can be thrown in a spiral of compulsive shopping without realising the real value or usability of the product bought. So I believe that advertising can push us to purchase staff that we really do not need and a conscious consumer is one that knows how advertising works and is not swayed by shining ads.