Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

A certain segment of the society opine that advertising can prompt one to purchase things that are completely unnecessary, while others believe that advertisements promote products which can significantly better our lives. I support the former point, as I believe that advertisements can be misleading and we should not fall prey for it. Most of the time, products that are advertised on television and other forms of media is exaggerated to a large extent. The advertisements are made in such a way that it will lure the minds of people to spend more than the worth of the product, without realising that they are falling for the marketing gimmicks. This can result in some audience getting enticed by the fancy products, thereby squandering money on them. Very often, people even fail to do a cost benefit analysis on the products they are buying due to the attractive commercials. For instance, youngsters get instantly drawn to adverts on new fashion garments just because it would be worn and publicised by a celebrity whom they admire. In an attempt to follow their role model, they tend to do impusive shopping. This can also result in financial constraints for individuals or families, as being spend thrift would not help in increasing the savings that would ulitmately be required for leading a good life or for an emergency. The money spent unconstructively on such goods can be invested in education, healthy food and helping the needy. For example, the cost of buying a product which is not useful for one can be used to buy a meal for the hungry. To recapitulate, I am of the opinion that advertising can instill the need to spend in a way that can cause us more damage than good. People need to be wise of what they are buying and how much they spend and not get wrongly influenced by the advertisements.