Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

In my personal opinion, I would agree that advertisements are important for our product knowledge. Advertising enhances our skills to compare the options available and select the best possible products and services for us. It also helps us to remain updated with the new technologies and gadgets available in the market. However, I would not differ from the statement that advertising does encourages us to buy things that we don't really need. Inspite, we have to understand that every coin has 2 sides. It depends upon us how to view those adverts. We can only view them as skills enhancement or as a medium of spending an extra penny. We should only spend based onto our spending capacities. I personally follow 60-30-10 rules for my finance management, wherein, 60% covers my monthly bills, rent, loans, groceries, shopping and 30% directly goes into my savings and investments. Pending 10% will be saved but in form of emergency funds. I would like to share my personal experience I encountered at my workplace in past. We had tied up with local brand for all our pantry needs since past few years. Every year the contract used to get renewed on the same terms. Since we didn't have the knowledge of other products, our company was spending a huge amount on this. However, we soon realized the based on a advertisement that other products in the market is much cheaper than what we were opting for. It really helped us to change the profit figures for our company. So in conclusion, I would strongly recommend to keep your views open regarding the advertisements and promotions. Thank you.