Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Living in a fast moving world, we see new changes and new products being introduced to our society. Advertising plays a vital part in the marketing world but also has its advantages and disadvantages. “Not all that glitters are gold” is a fair point to ponder to those consumers who buy products without a necessity. The reason being is because they feel the urge to buy all that they see and this leads to confusion and wastage of money. For this reason I do agree with the fact that advertisements do help us understand our world better. Through advertisements we are open to new products, new equipment, new deals, promotions, etc. People’s lives have become healthier due to the great advertising skills of new excising equipment that have encouraged people to start working out. For example, we were thrilled to purchase the new “Easy Portable” Treadmill early this year. It has made our lives so much easier. In conclusion, as the term goes, “Human wants are infinite! ” consumers need to discern their necessity before purchasing any product as not all that is seen needs to be purchased.