Some people say that advertising encourage us to buy thinks we really do need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which view point do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I think that everyone can divide all advertising products and services into useless ones and useful ones. It's like looking through an information desk when you pay attention to those messages that interest you. Taking me for example, I don't like jewelry. It doesn't mean I don't have it at all, I have a couple of inexpensive rings as gifts from my parents. I just think, people pay too much attention to this stuff. I believe it is the result of mass advertising. Everyday when I'm watching TV, listening to the the radio or reading the paper I notice many ads about getting an expensive ring, chain, necklace or ear-rings. From my point of view these kinds of advertising contaminate people's minds. In this case you are encouraged to buy things you do not really need. They make you believe you need such products in order to success or be happy. From the other side, I think that advertisements of the new detergents with up-to-date formulas to help you maintain your cloth in perfect conditions, the new cars with some extra futures that make your traveling more comfortable and sports goods that make your life healthier may help you to improve your life. Recently my husband and I saw an ad on the Internet about a very interesting and inexpensive vocation to Japan for a week. Is not it awesome? We like travelling. So we are planning to find out more about it and, maybe, make reservations. I belief that without advertisements we would be unaware about plenty of opportunities that may make your life happier, easier and less stressful. My point is that every person has his own scale of values. So, if he is vegetarian he will consider an ad about meat products useless for him.