Some people say social media do more harm to the youth. Other people say they do the great to the youth.

It is argued by some that social media can exert more havoc to youngsters. Nevertheless, others regard it as beneficial to adolescents. I consider it to be neither harmful nor extremely useful to young people. Social media, as its name shows, encompasses several technological tools such as Twitter, WeChat, YouTuBe and so on in which young people can acquire novel skills that may be absolutely contributive to one's academic study. By using them proficiently as well as frequently, pupils can master capabilities that they may have difficulty to grasp. Aside from being a convenient way of self-improvement in academia, online apps are also effective platforms in which teenagers are able to make intimate friends with whom they can cooperate in the future long-term development, a core reason why I take it as a positive thing. However, everything, social media included, has side-effects. Although there exist a sea of advantages of social media, its defects are ignoble. To capture audience attention tightly, the media broadcasts a host of negative reports, resulting in irreversible repercussion to the whole society. Adolescents, who are innocent and naive, often lack experiences to differentiate merits from evils, thus imitating those irresponsible deeds exposed by social media, which produces a devastating consequence. In addition to that, the media can distort the truth by disclosing fake news to manipulate the public which lacks rudimentary critical thinking to judge wrong from right, making unnecessary reverberations. So the social media contains a train of shortcomings. In conclusion, it is hard to tell whether the advantages of social media outweigh its weaknesses or not. I would hold a view that it is neither detrimental nor helpful to teenagers.