Some people say now there is less communication between family members than in the past.

It is thought by some people that the communication between family members has deteriorated recently. In my opinion, I completely agree with this statement because of extended work hours and geographical separation. Firstly, young professionals spend the majority of their day working rather than hanging out with their family, especially their parents. In the past, the average working schedule was less than 40 hours per week, so people had spare time on meeting their parents. However, this is no longer a lifestyle at the moment. Young workers usually work over 40 hours a week, which leaves them less time chatting with their parents. Hence, instead of calling their mothers and fathers, they would rather rest when they get home. Another point to consider is that living far away from other family members discourages people to get in touch. Due to the long-distance transmission which is often less effective than a face-to-face conversation, it decreases the excitement of having a conversation with other family members. In other words, both parties involving in the discussion feel less attached because they cannot see others' body language which is crucial for effective communication. As a result, people do not want to communicate frequently when they live apart from each other. Although technology helps to bridge the gaps of far distance conversation, such as Zoom, Skype, or Whatsapp, it does not make people feel closer in the discussion because they cannot touch each other or feel others’ emotions. This makes the conversation less real. In conclusion, family members put in much less effort meeting family members due to long hours of work and locations. In the future, technology will hopefully encourage the family to connect with others.