In many countries, people like to eat a wider variety of food than can be grown in the local area. As a result, much of the food today we eat has to come from other regions. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Increasing demand for a several types of foods put strain on local source of nation’s agriculture therefore various products are being imported from remote places in order to satisfy consumers’ needs. However, despite it has some positive sides for purchasers and farmers, the negative points, such as unhealthiness and environmental issue, transcend them easily. One of the prime advantageous of bringing foods from long distance is that it is beneficial for consumer. It is because imported foods provide an opportunity in terms of a wider choice, and also it becomes more affordable. In other words, when supply exceeds demand, the possibility of falling price is higher owing to fierce competition among markets. Another equally efficacious factor is that the farmers and producers acquire substantial asset from it. This can be explained by that farmers are able to expand their business into foreign market as a result their profit may increase noticeably than selling their goods only in local areas. On the other hand, it has a myriad of drawbacks, one of is which it can be harmful from the viewpoint of health. For the reason that chemical additives are used to prolong the shelf-life of food products. In other words, these products become less natural leading to an adverse impact on people’s health. Another yet more damaging factor is the environmental cost associated with carrying food. What it means, the greenhouse gas emissions are released from transportation of foods. In addition to this, the majority of foods, which are brought form abroad, are packaged with plastic-based materials which in itself are detrimental for environment. In conclusion, although this idea is double-edged sword which has its adequate advantages and disadvantages, in my opinion, the drawbacks as such unhealthiness and environmental issues can effortlessly outweigh the pluses