Some people say main way to be happy in life is to have a lot of money

We very often come across people who argue about the significance of making money. Some believe that earning a good amount of money is essential for happiness, yet others refute the notion and claim that people can be contented with many other things. Analysing the rational explanations given by both groups might help to assume a conclusion. Many believe that money is the prime component of happiness because it can fix problems and can help to lead a luxury life. They argue that a wad of cash helps to solve issues in life that spell doom for a peaceful life. Take the high cost of cancer treatment for example. The monthly medicine costs may reach one hundred thousand dollars, which is more than four times the annual salary of a blue-collar worker. This seems that only an affluent individual can afford the treatment. Likewise, they go on claiming that earning a fortune is of considerable importance because it makes us feel valued. And feeling esteemed is arguably the single most essential requisite for comfort. However, some people think that several other things can bring happiness too. They say that the most prominent one is the practice of gratitude. According to them, our lives are governed by the “haves” versus the “have-nots” and when people become grateful for the things they have, it increases their happiness quotient. Science also provides evidence in favour of the notion. Neuroscience has revealed that the act of being grateful releases dopamine and serotonin in our brain that activate the happiness centre of our brain. Likewise, they go on claiming that serving the needs of other arguably makes people feel fulfilled. To conclude, in light of both perspectives, I must admit that money is important, but there are many other ways to be happy. I would end by quoting Chinese adage “if you want happiness for an hour, take a nap. If you want happiness for a day, go fishing. If you want happiness for a year, inherit a fortune, if you want happiness for a lifetime, help somebody.