Some people say learning a foreign language is good only if it’s for study or work purposes. Other argue that a foreign language can have various other benefits.

Nowadays, there are numerous arguments on the benefits of learning a foreign language. While some people focus on the real value which will important in case one decides to migrate for work or study purposes, others believe that learning a foreign language can be advantageous in general even if one is not migrating to a different country. This essay aims at discussing both the opinions and providing an opinion based on logic and rationality. People who believe that migration is not the only reason to learn a foreign language argue that it can have various benefits while living in the home country. For example, it opens the path to multiple professional fields like translating, teaching and copywriting. These skills are high in demand due to the accelerated rate of globalization and integration of world economies. Apart from intrinsic merits, a new language can have a positive cultural influence on an individual. It makes one a better communicator by increasing his or her confidence and learning capabilities. Many people involved in historical research and forecasting often find learning a new language extremely beneficial, since it enables them to broaden their horizons and collect information of higher accuracy. On the other hand, those who believe that there's no point in learning a foreign language if not for migration purposes argue that the time and mental exercise required is not worth it. This is because the new language might or might not provide utility, depending on the future course of events. Moreover, learning a new language, especially at a young age, can have a detrimental impact on one's communication skills. Research portrays that many multilingual people often struggle with day to day communication due to a weak grip over their mother tongue or their first language. Taking all these arguments into consideration, my opinion is slightly inclined towards the second category of people. I believe that one must plan before learning a foreign language. A proper of objective behind learning a language like migration for studies or better work opportunities enhances the overall experience. Moreover, nowadays, there are numerous skills one can equip like coding, designing and analysis which can have a positive influence on one's career and development.