Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people think that video games are not only a funny game but also a useful educational tool, while other people hold the belief that video games will harm the people playing them. This essay attempts to discuss both views before coming to a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, video games have a bad effect on people who play them. First of all, some games may affect the behaviour or the characteristics of the child. There are more and more violent games being produced and children who are not able to recognise them. When they play a lot of violent games, it may have an adverse effect on their growth. In addition, playing video games too much may lead to some bad effects for our physical health. If we sit in one place to play video games for a long time, our eyes will easily short-sighted or we also have backache. People who play games so much they will easily experience depression because they do not communicate with other people. On the other hand, video games have a wide range of benefits if we use it in the right way. Firstly, people can learn a lot of grammar or vocabulary of foreign languages which they are interested in. Some video games are produced by some foreign engineers so that people can choose the language which they want to improve their skills or their vocabularies. Secondly, some video games are produced to meet our educational needs. In the market, there are a wide range of video games which educate children such as educating them to recognise colour and how to use colour to decorate the room or some cooking games can educate a child to cook some easy foods. In conclusion, video games have a lot of merits and shortcomings. To my point of view, the disadvantages of video games may be weighed by the advantages if we can manage time to play games. And parents should know what kind of games their children are playing so that they can prevent children if they play some violent games.