Many people say smoking should be banned and some say it is not a good idea. What is your opinion on this?

People’s opinions differ as to whether or not public smoking should be imposed restriction on. Some people believe that smoking should be prohibited, whist others disagree with it. On the one hand, there are several certain reasons why smoking should be banned. Firstly, smoking on a regular basis is detrimental smokers’ direct health. Given that cigarettes contain highly toxic and addictive substance, this will be responsible for respiratory diseases, especially lung cancer which ultimately leads to dead. Secondly, smoking would also have a serious threat for passive smokers’ health. People who do not smoke but inhale the smoke of active smokers will also have a risk of lung cancer as well. On top of that, womnen during pregnancy tend to be more prone to miscarrige, preterm birth and other complications. On the other hand, it is understandable if several people dislike the controversial idea that smoking should be banned in all places. On a social level, a multitude of citizens consider that banning smoking is unresonanle and restricts on their individual freedom. From an economic perspective, tobacco industry is the source of huge tax for government. Thousands of people work in cigarette related indutries and this creates a range of job opportunities. If a prohibition on smoking is adopted, many tobacco plants and factories will close down, this will lead to highly unemployment rate and be projected to increase social issues such as crime. Another vague benefit of smoking is that smokers believe that smoking could refresh their minds and relieve them from tension and stress, though it has not been scientifically proved. In conclusion, although some people are against with this idea, banning smoking is of greater importance.