Some people regard tattoos and body piercing as an extreme form of fashion. Why do you think young people are prepared to damage their skin, permanently, in order to be fashionable? Do you think teenage rebelliousness or peer pressure plays a greater role? Discuss.

In the past few decades, tattoos and piercings have become a fashion trend and teenagers seem to favour them, although they damage their skin permanently. But, why do they risk their health and do their friends or they need to contempt their parents, influence them more? In this essay I will discuss the above. Firstly, becoming fashionable, in our over consumptive society, plays a vital role in a person’s social life. Moreover, it makes them more relevant to their classmates, and gives them the chance to become famous in their school community. From my own experience, two years ago I got two tattoos on my right hand, and since then everybody in the school likes me and hangs out with me. Lastly, it might seem that damaging your body with this kind of art, will make you more and more friend, that is true, but you will not be making long lasting, meaningful, friendships. The influence, that your companions might have on you is significant. Most youngsters act in certain ways, in order to be accepted by their schoolmates, and in this case, having extreme forms of fashion is an easy way out. To illustrate, a study carried out by the University of Cambridge, on UK students, showed that more than 40% of them that have had symbols embedded in their body, were guided by their peers. Although, the pressure by mates is a significant factor, teenage rebelliousness towards parents, is also an element to be accounted for. Taking everything into consideration, being trendy has positive aspects for the individual’s social life, while peers influence them more than their need for rebelliousness. But, teenagers should be advised and should consider the long term consequences of their actions.