In many countries, students do not want to study science subjects at university. Why is this happening. What will be the consequences of this for society?

Studying science subjects is not popular among students in many countries. There are several reasons that students are reluctant to choose these subjects at university and this can cause various effects on society. The reluctance of studying science subjects can have three main reasons. Firstly, there is an attitude between people that the graduates of science subjects cannot find a well-paid and profitable job. For example, studying some engineering or medical fields may provide a better income for students after graduation rather than science subjects. Secondly, many students believe that science subjects are more difficult than other subjects and they need more effort and time to learn. Therefore, they prefer easier subjects to study at university. Thirdly, in the lower grades of education, students may have not been encouraged enough to select science subjects and they are not aware of benefits and advantages of these subjects. Not studying science subjects at university can have two essential effects on society. Many science subjects provide the basis knowledge required for high technology issues. The more students do not study science subjects, the more society have not an expert in these subjects. Lack of expertise in these subjects led to decreasing in technology improvement and decreasing the pace speed of technology. Furthermore, when almost students want to study other subjects rather than science subjects, there will be an unbalance between studying subjects and as a result an unbalance between the jobs which this in turn can cause negative influences of society, such as some severe psychological and mental effects. In conclusion, students in many countries do not tend to choose science subjects at university. Several reasons can create this reluctance among students. However, these choices led to some negative aspects of society and its improvement.