Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

Although living in a house is thought by some to be superior to living in an apartment, other people consider the latter to be the preferable option. In my opinion, I think that living in an apartment has more merits to it than living in a house. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of living in a house. Firstly, it is usually quieter than an apartment. In other words, houses are normally more separated from other architectural developments and, therefore, their inhabitants do not need to suffer noises produced by others. To illustrate, people who live in a block of flats may have problems with sleep due to the annoying sounds made by their neighbours at night. Secondly, houses in general are more spacious, which allows having more rooms and household facilities. As a result, families who occupy them can, for example, enjoy an indoor swimming pool or gym. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe there are serious drawbacks of owning or renting a house. One serious problem is the fact that houses are generally more expensive to buy and maintaining them is more arduous than apartments. The associated expenses are much higher, as not only are the average prices of these properties very high, but also the utility bills tend to be detrimental for the family budget. For instance, it is hardly attainable to find a house in London that would cost less than one million pounds. Furthermore, normally more houses are located in the suburban area instead of the city centre. As a result, it might be difficult for the people who are not drivers to access various places which tend to be in more central locations, such as high-end shops, banks or universities. In conclusion, being less cost-effective and having issues with travelling to the city centre far outweighs any of the minor benefits that could result from living in a house.