Many people continue to use cars and motorcycles even though they know that they are bad for the environment. Why is this? What can be done to reduce the use of these vehicles?

It is argued by several individual that people are continuously using private vehicles although they are aware that they cause negative effects to the environment. This is because of the people wanting to live luxurious life. To mitigate this problem people should encourage to use bicycle. To embark on, these days a lot of people buy car and motorcycles because this is linked to social status and those who have lots of money want to live luxury life. If individual have their own vehicle they have good reputation in the society, and they are judged on the basis of materialistic things. Furthermore, they also want to show off to their friends and relatives. On the other hand, for some people private motorized vehicles are the important medium for commuting in their workplace. Public vehicle usually are slow and they consume more time to reach their desired destination, so many masses are forced to use their own vehicle to reach in office in time. For example, in the context of Nepal there are no train services, which are usually faster due to the fact that individual are compelled to use cars an motorbike to travel long distance using their cars and motorbikes. However, there are many ways to combact this problem. The first and for most one is persuading citizen to use bicycle because it allows individual to commute to different places without having negative impact in the environment. Bicycle does not use any fuel and they are powered by people, as a result, there will be no more environmental pollution as well as people remain healthy. Moreover, bicycle also reduce traffic congesting, consequently, cities will have more bicycle in the road which means there is less traffic jam and also enables to control noise pollution. In addition, local authorities can be motivate their citizen to use more electric vehicles because they are powered by clean source of energy like electricity and they are also environment friendly, and they can also support electric vehicle manufacturing company to produce cheap electric vehicle so that every citizen can afford to buy this vehicle. For instance, there are many electric car manufacturing company in the world like tesla. In conclusion, to protect the environment and to reduce greenhouse gas emission every individual should walk shorter distance, which will benefit their health and environment.