Some people hold that children do not get as much attention from their parents as children did in the past. with this opinion?

The argument that parents no longer give adequate attention to their offsprings when contrasted with old times is agreeable. Work-life balance and social media strongly contribute to this. This essay will discuss them both, and also encourage parents to create more family time. Due to hectic working hours imposed on employees by some organizations, parents are not afforded so much free time. For instance, modern-day companies in a bid to outshine the competition, make workers, some of whom are parents stay at the office for long hours, this leads to tiredness when they get home. Hence, they are not able to play or even have meaningful conversations with their family. The internet also causes adults to digress from taking care of kids under their custody. Furthermore, a good amount of time is dedicated by parents to social media apps such as Instagram, Facebook and Whatsapp. On these platforms, they like pictures, comment on posts and engage in irrelevant topics, this causes them to neglect their social responsibility which is bonding with their children. Consequently, this leads to the children partaking in activities that are harmful to their health. For example, in Nigeria The Drug Enforcement Agency reports that a great ratio of drug abusers are minors, this could however be averted if they were advised by their guardians. Parents however, have a role to play which is creating a balance between work and personal life. This can be done by arranging family games. To conclude, family is an important aspect of life. As such people who have children should carve out time to discuss and play with them. In addition, less time should be dedicated to trivial things on the internet, this will further spur up interest to engage with these children.