Some people feel that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

Zoo is an issue which generates great deal of heated debates, with supporters maintaining that it protects animals, whilst opponents claim that it is cruel. One very convincing argument in favour of zoo is that by living in zoo, animals are not compelled to kill other animals in order to receive food. For instance, animals from zoos eat food which was given by individuals, while in freedom, there are abound of mortal combats for survival. Consequently, zoo is the best way to prevent fights between wild animals. The other's is that zoos prevent not only cruel fights, but also extinction, as the more animals live in zoos, the less victims will be. Thereby, putting animals in zoos saves lives of animals. In contrast, opponents of zoo point out that it is cruel, irrespective of benefits. Firstly, animals in zoos are subject to isolation, as they don't live there with their own will. In other words, they are put there at the expence of freedom. Secondly, some animals are not able to live in cages due to their lifestyle. Finally, it is fair to say that zoos disrupt animal's live. All things considered, it can be concluded that a certain degree of living animals in zoos is always necessary. The best course of action would be to attempt to achieve a balance between supporters on the one hand, and opponents on the other.