Some people feel that with the help of technology, there is little difficulty in solving complex mathematical problems. Therefore mathematics is no longer a mandatory subject at schools and colleges. Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your experience or knowledge.

There is no doubt that technology can solve any problem in a short duration of time. Over the past few decades, technical advancements have also impacted the way traditional subjects should be taught in academic institutions. While some people argue that mathematical knowledge is no more required as difficult problems can be solved with technology usage, but, to a great extent I disagree with this statement. This essay will elaborate views in support of my argument. Those who believe that automation is the replacement of mathematics argue that it can solve many challenging tasks with little efforts. This is because one can complete multiple assignments simultaneously often without any errors. For example, a simple algorithm can be used to program computer software to process huge data hassle-free. In contrast, if there was no technical assistance, it would take a lot of time to solve even simple problems. However, I would argue that mathematics has a wider contribution than just solving difficult mathematical equations. The reason for this is it helps students in developing analytical mind, enhancing problem-solving skills and aptitude which can be used in other fields of study. For instance, knowledge of mathematics can be beneficial in other subjects like Physics, Chemistry, geography, accounting etc. If mathematics subject is discontinued, then this will impact the overall academic development of students in multiple ways. In conclusion, although the usage of machinery in solving problems is tempting as it is accurate and fast, I believe there is no alternative to mathematics because it imparts many skills. It is predicted that in future, academic institutions will continue to teach mathematics as compulsory subject.