Some people feel that the cost of space exploration is far too high for the benefits it brings while others argue that we space programmes should continue no matter what the cost.

Nowadays the amount of funds that are being spent on space exploration has become a hugely debatable topic, but does the exorbitant cost of exploring space means that it should be abandoned? While some believe they shouldn’t; I, however, side with those who feel that the continuation of space programs is not worth the cost. On the one hand, people who believe that space exploration programs should continue, tend to argue that it often leads to the birth of new technologies. It is argued by them that space exploration program has led to the discovery of day to day technology such as “GPS”. Furthermore, they argue that without such a discovery, people would not have been able to track airplanes or ships or even use online maps through their smartphones. Therefore, they feel that the funds should be used to continue the space exploration program as they benefit humans with new inventions. However, some believe space exploration is known to have huge costs. They argue that it is too expensive and the funds used for space exploration can be used for other important matters that are haunting our planet. I feel the funds should be used to solve problems such as, air and water pollution. Furthermore, tackling such issues should be a priority as they pose an immediate threat to our planet. Moreover, I believe space exploration programs do not always result in being a success. To illustrate, small errors can cause the launch of the rockets to deviate from their directed trajectory. Consequently, such errors result in termination of the launch which means self-destruction of the rocket leading to nothing but wastage of money. To conclude, although space exploration may benefit people in discovering new technologies, failure of such programs often leads to wastage of money. Therefore, on balance I believe that such programs should not be continued at any cost.