Some people feel that courses can make anyone a teacher, while others feel an excellent teacher cannot be made by pursuing a course. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The role of educators is predominant in the education sector as they shape the future generation of a nation. It is argued by some that anyone could be a teacher by attaining courses whereas, others believe by pursuing courses excellent teachers cannot be made. This essay will first examine the benefits of the latter opinion and secondly, will discuss why studying courses is not enough to be a specialist, before reaching a reasonable conclusion. Even though some are passionate about teaching, lack of presentation skill is a barrier to them thereby not able to pass on knowledge to the pupils. For such people courses not only enable them to acquire knowledge but also to enhance their skill-set. For instance, in 2009, the government of India came up with a plan to introduce teacher training courses which contain numerous courses. 40% participants enrolled in subject related and got benefit from this course. This data suggests by inculcating skills one could be a good teacher. Notwithstanding, some teacher’s gain immense knowledge by enrolling in multiple courses but lack of interest in teaching becomes a hindrance to them to excel in the profession. To cite an example, even after having a high degree in Taxation. My tax teacher was unable to interpret the academic lessons. Reason being her aim was to be a tax consultant in an accounting firm but ended up working as a teacher. Henceforth, it can be said that even after pursuing courses one could not be an excellent mentor. To conclude, if someone is in another realm one could not be an expert mentor even after enrolling in multiple courses. I however believe that courses are a great source to obtain knowledge and polish our skills. One of my friends from Canada working as a senior psychologist participates in numerous courses to enhance skills.