Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. with this statement?

There is a growing concern that globalisation is an unavoidable cause of the complete loss of cultural identity. In my opinion, although globalization is no doubt a threat to local cultures, it seems unlikely that a country’s cultural identity would dissolve completely because of it, and my reasons for this statement are going to be outlined below. To begin with, it cannot not be denied that increased exposure to world cultures is one of the main sources of this concern. With the development of the internet, people, especially youngsters, now have wider access to global media. Consequently, many of them are gradually losing interest in their own culture. For instance, most young people in Vietnam are turning their back on traditional music as they consider it behind the times compared to other kinds of music such as rock, EDM, and rap, which originate from foreign cultures. This is just one of the numerous pieces of evidence cultural diversity is under serious threat in this globalized world. However, as a response to this cultural threat, governments and their citizens are making more efforts to guarantee the protection of their culture. A concrete example of this is Wales. The risk that Welsh language might be killed off by social pressures used to be alarming in this nation, but, after decades of attempts, local authorities have managed to make their language become a vibrant part of Wels life again. This is proof that their national characteristics are still be well protected and will not disappear easily in this integrative context. In conclusion, in spite of posing risks to cultural diversity, globalization also plays an important role in encouraging people to preserve their own identity rather than leading to the loss of it.