Some people claim that reading a anovel is a waste of time than reading a nonfictional works. Do you agree?

Some people claim that reading nonfictional works is beneficial whereas reading novels is a waste of time. Those who thinks this way do not realize the importance of the novel. The fictional world affects mankind in several ways. When people read a novel, they are entering into a new world. Frequently, the story takes place in a real part of the world at a particular time in history. The reader then learn about this place and time. Also, the readers learn new words and something unfamiliar. For example, someone who lives in the mountains might learn ship terms and how to sail a schooner. Reading also stimulates the imagination. In our complex society, we need people who can find of solving problems. People who have been reading a lot of fiction have developed good imaginations. They can use their imaginations creatively to solve problems in ways that other people could never dream of. Sometimes novels can change world events. For example, Harriet Beecher Stowe's antislavery novel may have helped end slavery in the United States. Sometimes novels can help us see things in a different way. Animal farm may have influenced many readers about communism. In conclusion, reading novels is not a waste of time. It provides readers with many satisfying hours that teaches them about life, stretches their imaginations and focuses their mind on today's problems. Reading novels is and should always be an important activity for the people in the world.