Some people claim that not enough waste from home is recycled. What stops people from recycling waste? What should be done to encourage people to recycle more of their waste?

Nowadays, many people criticize that the recycling of home trash is inadequate. In this essay I will look at the reasons for people not recycling waste and outline the strategies to increase people’s tendency to recycle things. People tend not to recycle waste for two reasons: a lack of related facilities and also a lack of education. It is generally accepted that it is inconvenient to recycle; recycling bins are placed long way from home and those bins are usually full, which prohibits people from putting things in for recycling. This is attributed to not enough resources being allocated to these facilities. In addition, a lot of people do not know the importance of recycling. They underestimate the disastrous consequences of not recycling, and hence more waste is produced. Given this situation, the government and schools have their roles in combating this problem. Firstly, the government ought to set up disposal fees, which incentivise people to recycle more. If people had to pay for the waste they dispose of, they would think about the means to minimise disposal, and therefore they would prefer recycling things rather than throwing them away. Secondly, teachers should educate children about the importance of recycling waste and let them take these messages to their homes. In this way, both parents and children are able to make recycling as their habits, which may drastically improve the recycling rate. In conclusion, low recycling rate is associated with a shortage of facilities and education; both the government and schools hold the keys to deal with this issue.