Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it legal requirement.

Some individuals believe that not enough of households’ waste is being recycled. They also believe that the only method in order to enhance recycling is for states to make it mandatory. I believe that laws are needed in this case because the environment needs to be protected and laws put fears in people’s mind. Laws have the power to encourage and force people to recycle their household waste in order to protect the environment. That is to say that waste contribute in a significant way in air pollution, therefore, by recycling, people will have a healthier atmosphere with clean air. Moreover, waste might play a vital role in spreading various diseases which affect citizens’ lives, thus if laws force people to recycle, all of these issues would be mitigated. For example, in Canada, the government implemented the recycling programme for their residents, which resulted in a healthier environment and a lower chance of catching different diseases. Another reason why laws are needed is that by making people pay fines, they will put fears in their mind. When governments introduce heavy fines for people who do not practice recycling, individuals will be afraid to not follow the rules and consequently they will recycle. For instance, in 2016, the Russian government introduced fines for people who do not recycle, which resulted in an increase of 80% in recycling. In conclusion, governments should make recycling a mandatory requirement and implement fines for people who do not recycle and also in order to protect the environment and obtain a healthier atmosphere.