Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Most people prefer working long hours neglecting their personal lives. It is rightly said All work and no play makes jack a dull boy, many employees choose to carry their work home and work after hours in order to meet deadlines and often compromise their leisure time over the weekends. This essay will discuss how the disadvantages like mental illnesses, saturation and personal lives spiral into a turmoil by working around the clock outweigh limited advantages supported by relevant examples by World Health Organization. Firstly, relentlessly working can not only cost a person their overall health but also make them reach a saturation point. In this modern world, due to increased competition many people succumb to working longer duration to achieve certain short-term goals which leads them to feeling saturated in the long run. For example, World Health Organization carried out a survey in 2019 stating that 79% of the people dealing with depression were employees who worked for more than an 8hour shift at offices every day. Hence, working overtime may bring a double paycheck but might only lead to major drawbacks in personal lives. On the other hand, some workaholics avoid weekends to indulge in family time or give themselves some personal attention. This not only leaves a foul impression or resentments in the minds of the family but also brings disharmony at home where there’s no communication involved which leads to children getting disassociated and divorces amongst spouses in marriage. For example, according to Vogue Magazine’s Mental Health Awareness campaign, saw an unbelievable count of votes in the poll for marriages ending up in divorces because partners could not give enough time to family. This not only states the many disadvantages of working overtime but also negates the scope of advantages. To summarise the above disadvantages of working long hours, it is obvious that work life balance is an important aspect of life and cannot be overlooked to gain short-term goals. It is therefore necessary for everyone working in this toxic work life culture to realise the importance of having some leisure time.