Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for the government to make it a legal requirement.

Household waste, also known as post-consumer waste, is one of the most hazadeous wastage which contributes majorly towards environmental degradation. To control the grim situation, recycling the waste is the need of the hour. However, some people claim that although it is important to recycle the waste products, not enough of it is being actually done. For this, they suggest that the government should make it as a legal requirement for every household to follow. This essay will discuss why strict measurements like laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste in order to save the environment. First and foremost, wastage and pollution aren't new terms that have been coined recently. Since long we have been taught about how neccessary it is to maintain the balance of mother nature, things that spoils the environment and the importance of 3Rs - reduce, reuse and recycle. However, many of us still choose not to pay much attention towards them. Notably, most of the household items come in a plastic packaging, for instance nutrella jars, which are thrown to waste right after consumption. One simple way to recycle such jars is to use them as pen or pencil stands, or use them to store small items like rings or chains. Secondly, a section of a society thinks that they are previledged and have enough wealth to not to care about things getting wasted. Recently a data has revealed that there is an immense use of plastic bags around the world. Especially in India, where the government has although urged the masses to carry their own cloth or jute bags to the markets, people still choose to purchase and take items in the one-time use plastic bags. Later these plastics are dumped which further deteroits the environment. It is a high time that people must realise the importance of recycling the items. Therefore the government should implement the laws and make sure the citizens use one item in several ways and multiple times.