Some people claim that immigrants should adopt the local culture when they arrive in a new country. Others think that they should maintain their culture instead. Discuss both views and give your opinion

These days, more and more people are moving to new countries to begin a new life. Some argue that these newcomers should take on the local customs, while others believe they should preserve their heritage. I strongly believe that assimilation into the target culture is key for a nation to function as one in order to succeed. A prosperous country utilizes the power of its people. As such, its citizenry must strive for common goals, which are to become strong, economically secure, and free from outside influence. This happens by creating a communal feeling among the residents. For example, Americans subscribe the melting pot, a concept that emphasizes being American first and Asian, African, or other identity second. Consequently, everyone can be an equal, proud member of the nation and collectively propel it forward. In contrast, focusing on maintaining one’s past traditions makes the goals of the nation becomes secondary. Another reason to assimilate is to speed up one’s integration into the system by finding a job, making friends, establishing a social safety net, and so on. This begins with language and customs. If one communicates effectively, he can build up his new life successfully. To illustrate, consider the second generation of immigrants; these young people were raised on the local culture, speak the language fluently, and tend to advance further than their parents. This suggests that if the latter had adapted to their new home more quickly rather than holding on to their past, they might have been more successful. Indeed, they did not principally emigrate to another country to conserve or promote their cultures and traditions, but in pursuit of better living conditions. In conclusion, while one’s heritage is important, it can be detrimental to one’s ability to integrate into a new culture and contribute to its success. Therefore, immigrants should quickly adapt to their new homes.